OPEN DAILY 8 A.M.|7 A.M. FOR MEMBERS WED. & SUN.

Home » Research & Conservation » Research and Conservation Staff

Meet our team

Andrew Salywon profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Andrew Salywon, PH.D.

Herbarium Curator and Research Botanist

Email: asalywon@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8107

Botanical inventories, endemic, rare and endangered plants of Arizona and the Sonoran Desert, molecular ecology, new crop development for arid-lands, and plant systematics using both traditional and molecular data

Annia Quiroz profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Annia Quiroz, M.A.

Central Arizona Conservation Alliance (CAZCA) Engagement Coordinator

Email: aquiroz@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8187

Empower and mobilize CAZCA partners, community members and decision-makers to protect, restore and steward Sonoran Desert parks, preserves, natural areas and open space in the Maricopa County region

Beth Brand profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Beth Brand

Librarian
Schilling Library

Email: bbrand@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8133

Collections care and conservation, archiving and preservation of the Garden’s history

Dan Koepke profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Dan F. Koepke, M.S.

Research Technician

Email: dkoepke@dbg.org
Phone: 480.941.1225

Plant-water relations, plant hydraulic systems, morphological and physiological investigation, histology and riparian restoration

Joe McAuliffe profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Joe Mcauliffe, PH.D.

Director Emeritus & Senior Research Scientist

Email: jmcauliffe@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8105

Soil-vegetation relationships in arid and semi-arid environments, ecology and conservation of semi-arid grasslands, development of long-lived clonal shrubs

Joni Ward profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Joni Ward, M.S.

Plant Registrar

Email: jward@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.2078

Databasing and accessioning the Garden’s Living Collection, Flora of Arizona and the Southwest

Kara Barron profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Kara Barron, B.S. (M.S. IN PROGRESS)

Research Assistant

Email: kbarron@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8131

Seed collection and conservation, floristics and fire ecology of the Sonoran Desert

Kevin Hultine profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Kevin R. Hultine, Ph.D.

Plant Physiologist/Ecophysiologist

Email: khultine@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8195

Plant-water and nutrient relations of arid and semi-arid regions; desert riparian plant ecology and conservation; population dynamics of desert shrubs, trees and cactus species.

Kimberlie McCue profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Kimberlie Mccue, PH.D.

Director Research, Conservation and Collections

Email: kmccue@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8137

Population ecology and genetics of rare plants, in situ and ex situ seed bank dynamics, invasive species, conservation science outreach and education

Kristen Kindl profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Kristen Kindl

Living Collections Coordinator/CPS Project Manager

Email: kkindl@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.2078

Databasing and accessioning the Garden’s Living Collections; production and placement of plant identification labels

Raul Puente profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Raul Puente-Martinez, M.S.

Curator Of Living Collections, Research Botanist

Email: rpuente@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8110

Systematics of Opuntieae (Cactaceae), hybridization of prickly pears, floristics, use of native and low-water-use plants in landscaping

Sarah Hunkins profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Sarah Hunkins, B.S.

Herbarium Collections Manager

Email: shunkins@dbg.org
Phone: 480.418.8152

Curation, conservation and processing of the collections

Shannon Fehlberg profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Shannon D. Fehlberg, Ph.D.

Dorrance Family Foundation Conservation Biologist

Email: sfehlberg@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8143

Evolution, distribution and population genetics of rare plants; determinants of genetic and species diversity; biogeography; polyploidy

Steven Blackwell profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Steven A. Blackwell, B.S.

Conservation Collections Manager

Email: sblackwell@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8175

Developing propagation techniques and protocols for rare plants, seed germination and viability studies of rare plants, habitat restoration and species reintroduction

Veronica Nixon profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Veronica Nixon, M.A., GISP

GIS Manager

Email: vnixon@dbg.org
Phone: 480.423.7010

Collection, organization, and dissemination of spatial data; maintenance of the Garden’s GIS

Wendy Hodgson profile picture - Research and Conservation staff at the Desert Botanicals Garden

Wendy C. Hodgson, M.S

Herbarium Curator Emerita
Senior Research Botanist

Email: whodgson@dbg.org
Phone: 480.481.8108

Floristics of Southwestern United States, particularly Grand Canyon region, Cactaceae and Agavaceae systematics, ethnobotany of Sonoran Desert, invasive species, systematics of rare Southwestern plants

You will now enter our LEARN portal, if you are a member, please login using the button on the top right corner of the page.
ENTER
close-link
DESERT BOTANICAL GARDEN WILL BE CLOSED, NOV. 22 FOR THANKSGIVING.