Garden Project

Michael Brown, Alexander Fiterstein, Elena Urioste, and Nicholas Canellakis

April 8, 2018

Doors 6:30 p.m. | Concert 7-8:30 p.m.
Members: $35 / General Public $40

Select date below to purchase tickets
Log in for member discount

Special Event Settings: 


Call: 480.941.1225 9 a.m.-5 p.m. or visit the admissions Box Office 8 a.m.-8 p.m.

Desert Botanical Garden is pleased to present Garden Project, a program curated by pianist-composer Michael Brown, who will perform with clarinetist Alexander Fiterstein, violinist Elena Urioste and cellist Nicholas Canellakis. These four internationally recognized musicians join forces to premiere Michael Brown’s Garden Quartet, a new work for clarinet, violin, cello and piano inspired by Desert Botanical Garden, Wave Hill in New York and Longwood Gardens in Pennsylvania.

Each movement of the work is written specifically to reflect the individual nature and characteristics of each of these gardens. The quartet of musicians also teams up in different combinations to perform music by Liszt, Fauré, and Messiaen and Klezmer-inspired arrangements. Commissioned by Wave Hill where it will premiere on Feb. 25, the project has been generously funded by Chloe Kramer, in memory of her husband Alan Kramer.

The composer and performing artists:  Michael Brown, a rising star in the music world, recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant, member of Lincoln Center’s prestigious Chamber Music Society 2 program and described by The New York Times as “one of the leading figures in the renaissance of composer-performers”, is the composer for the commission. The work will be written for a quartet of his regular musical colleagues, clarinetist Alexander Fiterstein, violinist Elena Urioste and cellist Nicholas Canellakis. 

The concert will be set in the breathtaking Binns Wildflower Pavilion.

Following the performance, there will be a Q+A with the performers and an informal reception with light refreshments.


Michael Brown: Garden Quartet
Fauré: Piano Trio, Op. 120
Messiaen: Quartet for the End of Time (clarinet movement)
Liszt: Au Bord d'une Source
Klezmer-inspired arrangements by Alexander Fiterstein

Brown-Urioste-Canellakis Trio appears by arrangement with Sciolino Artist Management